Thread: DIY LPG Conversion

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

Default DIY LPG Conversion

As a mechanic I'm more a tinkerer and bodger than master mechanic.However,I've always fancied buying an old Range Rover and doing an LPG conversion.
    I'm confident about the 'plumbing' side of it- fitting the tank and fuel pipes etc- but less so on the electrics and the actual intricacies of the carb.
    How easy are DIY LPG conversions for the enthusiastic punters like yours truly ?
    0 to 60........eventually !

Trainee
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

I did an lpg conversion on a 2.25 series 2 about a year ago. If the rangie is to be on carbs then the wiring would be the same. In all honesty, and I'm no electrician, it was a doddle. Just a case of following easy to understand wiring diagrams and finding a switched live of the ignition switch. I found the mounting securely of the tank the hardest bit as the load deck is only alloy and needed reinforcing to stand the stress involved under braking etc.
    As an aside the hardest thing is getting it insured. my way round that was i told the insurance the lpg was fitted when i first insured the vehicle and then fitted it at a later date, when i could afford it. I was never asked for a safety certificate as i said it never had one when i bought it!
    Dean
    If it ain't broke, you ain't trying hard enough!

Trainee
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

How do you get a safety cert. if you want one?
    Glen

Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

Get it checked by a registered installer
    Darren

'90 Discovery TDi (need to sell/ trade in for newer Range Rover/ Freelander)

Using Awaiting Confirmation
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

Default LPG KIT

Get in touch with Chris Perfect, advertises in Landy mags or find website.